Browse the Glossary

ICAO – International Civil Aviation Organization

ICAO – International Civil Aviation Organization was established by52 nations in 1944 by the signing of the “Convention on International Civil Aviation” (also known as Chicago Convention). Pending the ratification by 26 member states, the Provisional International Civil Aviation Organization (PICAO) was established. It operated from 1945 until 1947. The ICAO came into being on 4 April 1947. In October of the same year, ICAO became a specialized agency of the United Nations linked to Economic and Social Council .

The ICAO monitors, develops and publishes Standards and Recommended Practices, or SARPs, the principles and techniques of international air navigation and fosters the planning and development of international air transport to ensure safe and orderly growth. Its headquarters are located Montreal, Canada.

The United Nations  mandate to ICAO is to ensure the safe, efficient and orderly evolution of international civil aviation. ICAO’s aim is the safe and orderly development of all aspects of international civil aeronautics. It provides the forum whereby requirements and procedures in need of standardization may be introduced, studied and resolved.

ICAO has currently has 180 contracting States.

ICAO is pronounced  “Eye K O”

Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.