Browse the Glossary

Instructions for Continued Airworthiness (ICA)

Requirements for ICA were published and made effective in 14 CFR in 1980. These requirements provided a universal and standardized model for aircraft, aircraft engine, and propeller maintenance data, replacing various maintenance manual data standards previously in effect. These regulations require the applicant for a design approval, or change to a design approval, to develop ICA to the applicable content standard, then furnish ICA  on delivery of the affected aircraft or issuance of the aircraft’s first standard airworthiness certificate, whichever occurs later. They must also make those instructions available to any person required to comply with any of the terms of those instructions. The applicable airworthiness regulations also require that ICA be acceptable to the FAA, and certain portions of the ICA must be approved, such as the Airworthiness Limitations Section (ALS). The design  approval holder (DAH) is responsible for ensuring there is enough information in the ICA to maintain the continued airworthiness of the product

Maintains Airworthiness

Instructions for Continued Airworthiness (ICA) provide a way to keep products airworthy. ICA provide documentation of recommended methods, inspections, processes, and procedures. The ICA must
contain information on each item or part, as appropriate, installed on the product.

The methods, techniques, and practices for performing maintenance, preventive maintenance, and alterations, which are provided by the design approval holder or its component manufacturers, and are considered acceptable to the Administrator under section 43.13(a). For example, under Part 25, appendix H, the ICA includes an airplane maintenance manual or section, maintenance instructions, and an Airworthiness Limitations section. (Reference sections 21.50(b), 25.1529, Part 25, appendix H, and 43.13(a).)

Airworthiness Limitations Section

a. For an aircraft, aircraft engine, or propeller, there must be a separate and distinguishable
ICA section, called Airworthiness Limitations Section. The ALS must prominently display the
statement regarding FAA-approval as shown in the appendix of the applicable airworthiness
regulations. The applicable airworthiness regulations require the applicant set forth the
following in the ALS:
(1) Approved mandatory replacement times for type certification,
(2) Approved mandatory inspection times for type certification,
(3) Inspection procedures for those approved mandatory times, and
(4) Critical design configuration control limitations (CDCCL).



Speak Your Mind

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.